Warning: Attempt to read property "display_name" on bool in /nas/content/live/gmcmainprd/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-seo/src/presenters/meta-author-presenter.php on line 40

Warning: Attempt to read property "display_name" on bool in /nas/content/live/gmcmainprd/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-seo/src/generators/schema/article.php on line 53

COVID-19 Announcement: We are open, fully-staffed and working around the clock for the success of our students. Learn More


GMC News

Winter Honors Assembly

Georgia Military College recently honored those junior college students who have distinguished themselves in academics and character. Ms. Terry Kennedy, Assistant Vice President, Business Development and Marketing for Exchange Bank and 2008 graduate of GMC Prep School, spoke to the students about the importance of perseverance. Ms. Leslie Lash, Assistant Director of Student Activities recognized the following students for demonstrating exemplary character: Joshua Cotton, Donna Jacobs and Stephanie Stovall. Ms. Lash presented the Distinguished Order of the Servant Leader Award to Raliegh Burch. This award is presented to any member of the GMC family who volunteers at least 100 hours of community service in one year. Ms. Laurel Tucker, Associate Professor, Learning Support Services Department Chair, presented Academic Achievement Awards to: Christopher Benefield, Jordan Cannon, Sawyer Myers and Stevie Williams. Mr. Rafieal Johnson shared his inspiring narrative, “My Mentor,” with the audience. The following students were recognized for outstanding achievement in a subject area: Matthew R. Phillips – World History Jacob Rogers – American History Joshua Rogers – Military History Kenesha Jones – Political Science Emily Collins – Psychology Timothy Stephens – Criminal Justice Matthew R. Phillips – Art Justin Rumsey – Music Adam Greene – Literature Sterling Kitchens – Composition Holly Zant – Biology Virginia Reddick – Chemistry Rebecca Tamplin – Business Cheslea Arnold – Computer Science Kendall Popham – Mathematics Michael Franklin – Military Science Level I Cameron Hardin – Military Science Level II Anthony Finch – Military Science Level III Jonathan Mercado – Military Science Level IV Ms. Amy Zipperer, Assistant Professor of English recognized the Ethics Essay Award winners: Hunter Watson (First Place), Ynecyonte (Taey) Wright (Second Place) and Kelly Acord (Third Place). Matthew R. Phillips read his essay which was featured in Ethnos, a special issue of Reflections. Members of the 2009 Fall Quarter President’s List were honored for having a 3.70 grade point average of higher. Catherine Adams Daniel Adkison Amanda Alfier Anthony Allen Andrew Arnold Courtney Arnold Tessa Arnold Stacy Bachan Rachael Baker Lyndsey Blackwelder Jared Branan Joshua Brantley Andrew Brock Marcus Brown Joseph Bunn John Burgin Kyle Burns Jacob Camp Jeffrey Chance Justin Chapman Emily Collins Corey Cook William Cox William Dabbs Shannon Deutsch Erwin Dixon Kasey Durden Carlos Enamorado Joelle Etheridge Taylor Everidge Matthew Farrior Michael Garnto Annalisa Grimes Paul Harlan Edward Hicks Jennifer Hill Farran Holder John Jackson Jaime Jeanes Rachel Johns Miles Jones Charles Kelly Heather Kent Ashley Krassowski Alicia Leverett Matt Lindsey Mallory Long Samuel Lummus Kelly Mahaffey Britni Matthews Jacob McInnes Samuel McKenzie Morgan McPherson Francis Meighan Samantha Michalic Kaley Mitchell Hiral Patel Jerome Penson Benjamin Perna Emma Pickett Elicia Pinkston Kendall Popham Betsy Prestwood Matthew Price Gary Purvis Amy Rainey Walter Reynolds Ethan Roberson Jonathan Roberson Justin Rumsey Alonda Sauersinger William Shrope Christi Simmons Joshua Sirmons Cameron Smith Corey Smith Jenna Smith Kristen Spikes Amber Stanford Timothy Stephens Cassondra Strickland Joshua Sullivan Rebecca Tamplin Christopher Thompson Meagan Weaver Anna Whitehouse Terrica Williams Holly Zant Members of the 2009 Fall Quarter Dean’s List were honored for having a 3.20 grade point average of higher. Trevor Addison Dana Allen Maggie Allen Dylan Amerson Radovich Amor Tanyell Anderson Antony Armstrong Chelsea Arnold Adam Autry Christopher Babb David Babb Samantha Beasley Pamela Beckom Marlesa Bell Hannah Bennett Leslie Bittenbinder Shannon Bonner Amanda Boyd Marion Boyer William Brady James Brown Jermika Buck Antonio Bullard Justin Burney James Clark Brad Coley Lydia Coley Gabrielle Colon Justin Copland Adrian Cornejo Joshua Cotton Joshua Cox Megan Crawford Kiece Crite Antonio Delgado Felix Deloach Amon Deuley Kim Downing Grant Duffey Daniel Dunnam Spencer Easter Marlee Edwards Justin Enlow Michael Eubanks Amber Evans Caitlin Farlow Jessica Fisher William Fitzgerald James Floyd Jonathan Fortner Joni Foster Steven Freund Walker Gaultney Arsenio Glenn Bernice Grant Chelsie Gray Toni Gray Jacob Greenberg