GMC News

Prep honors athletes at Spring sports banquet

GMC Prep honors athletes at Spring sports banquet Keith Jump CNHI (Union Recorder) MILLEDGEVILLE — The Georgia Military Prep School family came together at the end of last month to honor their athletes at the school’s annual Spring sports banquet. Athletic director Garry Couch, who spoke at the event, is one of the best in the business, always putting the students first and always making sure the athletic program has everything it needs to compete with the best. Couch, who has also made a name for himself as the coach of the softball and baseball teams, had somewhat of a challenging year, with both his teams losing more than two-thirds of their players through graduation. And like the girls softball team, the baseball team lost a core group of seniors that could possibly go down as one of the greatest in school history. Having to start the season without senior Will Parker due to surgery and rehabilitation, the Bulldogs were dealt another serious blow when senior catcher Matt Harrrison suffered a devastating leg fracture earlier in the season. But in true Bulldog style, the team, led by senior ace Rick Griffin, the 2010 U-R Baldwin County Baseball Player of the Year, turned things around and ended with double digit victories and a playoff birth. And the successes didn’t end there as head soccer coach Linda Brown once again had a group of young ladies that were playoff bound. With Lindee Lord, Jenny Brown and the Byrne twins leading the way, GMC soccer continued its rise to the top of GHSA Class A. Playoffs and state meets are something everyone in any sport shoots for at GMC Prep. So the track team under coach Brett Marshall took advantage of Elizabeth Craig’s leadership, the breakout performances of Kaitlyn Russ and Jenny Brown, and the dazzling speed of Jaleesa Barksdale to carve out their own niche. Other sports such as tennis, cheerleading, boys basketball and soccer, rifle team, and golf, with Shawn Humphrey and Brooke Williams leading the way, also had the same success this year and were all recognized. Congratulations, to all the winners and everyone that participated in GMC athletics, but also to the Bulldog nation because, as coach Couch said: “Without our supporters this would not be possible.” The GMC Prep 2009-10 Spring Awards went to: Basketball Cheerleading Captains Awards — Macy Knowles, Sara Gray and Tanisha Johnson Girls Basketball Most Outstanding Player — Jalessa Barksdale and Lauryn Dennard Most Improved Player — Alyssa Amerson Most Versatile Player — Karmyn Fuller Scholar Athlete — Katelyn Coburn Rookie of the Year — Kaitlin Russ Comeback Player of the Year — Elizabeth Craig Boys Basketball MVP — Joseph McAllister Best Defensive Player — DeMarhea Rivers Best Offensive Player — Will Parker Mr. Bulldog — Justin Parham Coaches Award — Dustin Archebelle Most Improved — Drew Reece and Jah-wann Galimore Unsung Hero — Nolan Baugh Rifle Team Top Shooter — Caroline Hooks Most Improved — TJ Curtis Sportsmanship Award — Michael Waddell Track Male Field Event — Taylor Payne Female Field Event — Kaitlyn Russ Male Track Event — Chris Brown Female Track Event — Jaleesa Barksdale Coaches Award — Elizabeth Craig Golf Boy’s Low Medalist — Shawn Humphrey Girl’s Low Medalist — Brooke Williams Soccer (Boys) Best Defensive Player — Chris Brown Best Offensive Player — Joseph McAllister Most Improved — Justin Williams Coaches Award — Brendan Beasley Senior Award — Colby Pennington Leadership Award — Scott Johnson (Girls) Best Defensive Player — Lindee Lord Best Offensive Player — Anna Byrne Most Improved — Haley Spires Coaches Award — Alex Byrne Senior Award — Alex Levendis Most Valuable Player — Jenny Brown Tennis (Boys) MVP — Trevin Lee Most Improved — John Austin Vance Bulldog Award — Adam Veatch (Girls) MVP — Haylee Chambers Most Improved — Abby Giddens Bulldog Award — Brooke Waddell Baseball MVP — Rick Griffin Bulldog Award — Nolan Baugh Most Improved — Mack Brooks Best Defensive — John Layfield Coaches Award — Matthew Harrison Hustle — Dillion Watkins 110 Percent Award — Donovan Smith Comeback Player of Year — Will Parker Vince Dooley Leadership Award Boys — Rick Griffin Girls — Lauryn Dennard