GMC News

JC Winter Honors Assembly

Georgia Military College recently honored those junior college students who have distinguished themselves in academics and character. Mr. W.J. Usery, Jr., former US Secretary of Labor and 1940 graduate of GMC Junior College, spoke to the students about the how the watchwords of GMC (Duty, Honor, Country) helped influence his life. Ms. Leslie Lash, Assistant Director of Student Activities recognized the following students for demonstrating exemplary character: Reshar Coleman, Russ Gardner, Zack Pursley, and Kirstin Thurman. Ms. Lash presented the Distinguished Order of the Servant Leader Award to Anthony Finch. This award is presented to any member of the GMC family who volunteers at least 100 hours of community service in one year. Ms. Laurel Tucker, Associate Professor, Learning Support Services Department Chair, presented Academic Achievement Awards to: Christy Caldwell, Mendes Elie, Chip Foskey, Arielle Vann, and Joshua Wiggins. The following students were recognized for outstanding achievement in a subject area: Michael Greenway – World History Andrew Arnold – American History Jacob Rogers – Military History Trenesia Finney – Political Science Chrissy Mashburn – Psychology Kayleigh Harris – Criminal Justice Garrett Hall – Homeland Security Alise Black – Education Leslie Ham – Pre-Nursing Charles Kilgore – Biology Cyler Poole – Chemistry Maura McCook – Art William Steed – Music Jaclyn Queen – Communication Connor Wall – Creative Writing Lashonda Harper – Literature Tangii Green – Composition Angela Lindsey – Business Richard Brown – Computer Science Matthew Hodell – Mathematics Cadet Jacob Tilley – Military Science Level I Cadet Sawyer Myers – Military Science Level II Cadet Nicholas Trouy – Military Science Level III Cadet Justin Copland – Military Science Level IV Ms. Laurel Tucker recognized the Ethics Essay Award winners: Emily “Shayne” Williams (First Place-$300), Zachary Lockhart (Second Place-$150) and Robert Grimes (Third Place-$50). Ms. Moona Yu, Assistant Professor of Music, accompanied and directed the GMC Chorus Club Men’s Quintet: Judson Simmons, Key Smith, William Steed, Connor Wall, and Jonathan Wilkes. They sang Yesterday, by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, and My America/Alma Mater. Members of the 2010 Fall Quarter President’s List were honored for having a 3.70 grade point average of higher. Nathan Adams Elvia Aguilera Dana Allen Erica Allen Chelsea Arnold Ellen Barker Stephen Boland Aljavon Boles Blaine Brantley Olivia Brown Armando Castillo Lydia Coley Emily Collins Caroline Conn Kelsey Crutchfield Caless Davis Verenice Diaz Troy Drennon Virgie Fedeli Charles Folk Casey Fortner Jonathan Fortner Leslie Gant Courtney Garner Michael Garnto Scott Gorham Julianna Grant Annalisa Grimes Leslie Ham Jonathan Harrison Hillary Hencely Oleksandra Holoversa Leah Huellemeier Shawn Humphrey Valarie James Stefen Jones Jack Kiblinger Kelly Langford Sabrina Lewis Jessica Little Samantha Loth Alfred Meadows Carl Merlino Kaley Mitchell Courtney Moore Megan Moore Nuong Nguyen Jessica Parker Amy Patel Jigna Patel Elicia Pinkston Justin Price Zachary Pursley Kelly Riner Amanda Robbins Joshua Rogers Savanna Roughen Ashley Sanford Alexander Scheib Matthew Slover Megan Smith Amber Stanford Chastity Suggs Matthew Tangren Cory Thrower Sean Tighe Jacob Tilley Kalli Trepanier Erin Vaden Stephanie Veal Sarah Veteto Kelly Vining Amber Waddell Jacob Walker Connor Wall Kristin Warren Ivy Watson Sarah Weasel Jazzmine Wilson Quevas Wright France Xiong Sidney Yaun Holly Zant Kristen Zweizig Members of the 2010 Fall Quarter Dean’s List were honored for having a 3.20 grade point average of higher. Ainsley Adams Christopher Albrycht Robert Amerson Emilee Anderson Andrew Arnold Brandon Bacon Kevin Baker Caleb Barge Stephen Beadles Roger Beaver Pamela Beckom Leslie Bittenbinder Hayley Blizzard Trevor Boyer Tramain Bradford Aliki Bridges Kentice Brockington Lorelei Brooks Matthew Brown Rashard Brown Richard Brown Tearra Brown Joshua Bryant Hunter Burgamy Willie Burns Percy Canon III Lauren Clark Kalli Coleman James Comer Andrew Cook Kimberly Cook Justin Copland Adrian Cornejo Hannah Coyle Joel Crawley Ann Cummings Charity Daniel Jaritxa Delgado Kirsten Dennis Jacy Dore Kaely Douglas Shane Doyle Devin Dubay Spencer Easter Paul Encardes Amanda Evans Brandon Evans Taylor Everidge Lindsey Fisher Virginia Folendore Tamara Ford Porsche Freeman Karmyn Fuller Joseph Gardner Caitlin Garner Charles Garner