GMC News


GEORGIA MILITARY COLLEGE’S BERT WILLIAMS SELECTED AS 2013 ACCFCA COACH OF THE YEAR WACO, TEXAS – Georgia Military College (GMC) Head Coach Bert Williams has been named the 2013 American Community College Football Coaches Association (ACCFCA) Coach of the Year. The award will be presented to Williams at the American Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year Dinner on Tuesday, January 14, at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. “I am pleasantly surprised and astounded that my peers would honor me with this award,” Williams said. “I’m proud of my team and my program and I’m excited to be able to represent Georgia Military College and the work that we have all done. Finally, I’d like to thank the AFCA for recognizing the Junior College Coach of the Year.” Williams recently completed his 14th season as head coach and athletic director at GMC by guiding the Bulldogs to an 11-1 record and an appearance in the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) National Championship game. This was the third national championship game appearance for GMC under Williams. He led the Bulldogs to the program’s first-ever NJCAA National Championship in 2001, with a 31-19 victory over Butler Community College in the Sea Island Company Golden Isles Bowl. Georgia Military were runner-ups in 2002. Williams has an overall record of 113-37 in his 14 years at GMC. His 113 wins rank him No. 5 on the active NJCAA head coaching list. Williams has led the Bulldogs to nine NJCAA bowl games, and produced 64 NJCAA All-Americans, including the Lea Plarski Award Winner, Jermaine Harris, in 2002. He was named National Coach of the Year in 2001 by the National Junior College Football Coaches Association, and in 2002 by American Football Monthly/Schutt Sports. Williams was inducted into the NJCAA Football Hall of Fame in 2010. Williams has also served his profession as the NJCAA Football Coaches Association President, and the ACCFCA President in previous years. He currently serves as the permanent Secretary for the ACCFCA and liaison to the AFCA. Williams was a four-year letterman at Davidson College from 1986-1990. After earning his B.A. in History at Davidson, he began his coaching career at the University of Georgia from 1990-1994. After a three year stint as the offensive coordinator at Union (Ky.) College, Williams came to GMC as the offensive coordinator and assistant head coach in the spring of 1997 for former head coach Robert Nunn. He served in that position for three years before being named head coach and athletic director in 2000. Williams is a native of Augusta, Georgia, and is married to the former Catherine Ann Coffman of Atlanta. They are the proud parents of two sons, Parker (17) and Zachary (12). About the ACCFCA: Community college football coaches are among the very best in the profession. In recent years, there have been two organizations, the California Community College Football Coaches Association and the National Junior College Football Coaches Association. Each organization had its own coach of the year. In 2000, the AFCA invited the organizations to meet at the AFCA Convention. Three national goals were set: to form a national community college football coaches’ association, to study the possibility of a national championship game between the two organizations and to elect, yearly, a national coach of the year and to have that coach recognized by the AFCA. Their initial goal, to create an umbrella coaches association, has been accomplished. In 2002, the American Community College Football Coaches Association selected its first national coach of the year, Michael White of Reedley College. Past winners of the ACCFCA Coach of the Year are: Troy Morrell, Butler Community College, 2003; Tim Hatten, Pearl River Community College, 2004; Don Dillon, American River College, 2005; John Featherstone, El Camino College, 2006; Jeff Chudy, Bakersfield College, 2007; Jeff Jordan, Butte College, 2008; Brad Franchione, Blinn College, 2009; Bob Jastrab, Mt. San Antonio College, 2010; Buddy Stephens, East Mississippi Community College, 2011; and Scott Strohmeier, Iowa Western Community College, 2012. –(AFCA)–