GMC News

Class of 2014 Graduation

Graduation for the GMC Preparatory School Class of 2014 was held on Friday, May 301 at 7:00 p.m. in Cordell Events Center. COL Fred Van Horn, USA (Ret.), Executive Vice President of Georgia Military College was the guest speaker. The COL Joseph F. Muldrow Salutatorian Award was presented to Ian Kyle Bailey. The Bettie Z. Farr Valedictorian Award was presented to Kevin Stuart Myers. The GMC High School Class of 1953 Award is an endowed scholarship presented annually to one senior who has exhibited outstanding academic achievement and to one member of the GMC prep school faculty who has demonstrated teaching excellence. Mrs. Anne Martin presented the Class of 1953 Scholarship, a $500 award, to Kevin Stuart Myers, and the Class of 1953 Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence, a $500 award, to Dr. Linda Brown. Nicki Lebendigerwas the 2014 recipient of the W. J. Usery, Jr. Award for Excellence, which is a $500 cash award presented annually to the senior who exemplifies the ideals of the academic, military, and citizenship pursuits at Georgia Military College Prep School. Immediately after the presentation of diplomas, Ms. Merel Harrison, GMC Prep School Class of 1973, Junior College Class of 1974 and past president of the Georgia Military College Alumni Association, welcomed the members of the graduating class into the Alumni Association. View photos here: