GMC News

Georgia Military College Columbus Hosts Induction Ceremony for Academic Honor Society Members

GMC Columbus’ Beta Sigma Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the prestigious international academic honor society for two-year colleges, recently inducted 13 new members.

The new inductees are Melissa Colon, Matthew Gray, Michelle Harris, Tristan Kaltreider, Veronica Reynolds, Kaylynn Watkins-McCoy, and Abel Torres of Columbus, Cami Griffith and Kayla Mumpower of Midland, GA, Edward Coyle of Valley, AL, Caleb Freeman of Salem, AL, Evelyn Morris of Smiths Station, AL, and Sean Saffan of Cataula, GA.

Inductee Evelyn Morris, a Pre-Nursing major, was “excited and proud” to be invited to join PTK. Morris decided to join because she “heard good things [about PTK] and wanted to meet new people.” Morris said she would recommend that any eligible student join PTK because it would provide them “a chance to be part of an organization that makes a difference.”

The guest speaker was Jessica Word of Columbus, an Alumni member of PTK who currently serves as the Marketing and Public Relations Coordinator for Columbus Regional Health. Word began her involvement with PTK in 2011 through Darton State College’s Chi Xi chapter, and she finished her degree in Journalism at Columbus State University. Word credits her involvement with Phi Theta Kappa to her current success.

GMC Columbus’ Humanities Department Chair and PTK Advisor Carrie Holzmeister of Phenix City considers PTK’s Induction Ceremony an opportunity to “recognize our outstanding students for their remarkable academic achievement while also, hopefully, inspiring them to achieve much greater goals.” Holzmeister stated that PTK “places great emphasis on promoting scholarship as an important aspect of our students’ lives.”

To be invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, students must have a GPA of at least 3.5, and they must maintain a GPA of at least 3.25 in order to remain members in good standing.  Members of PTK are eligible to apply for exclusive scholarships, many of which are awarded when the student transfers to a four-year college.

Pictured:  GMC Columbus’ new members of Phi Theta Kappa (L-R): Kaylynn Watkins-McCoy, Veronica Reynolds, Kayla Mumpower, Evelyn Morris, Caleb Freeman, Matthew Gray, Cami Griffith, and Tristan Kaltreider.  Not pictured: Melissa Colon, Edward Coyle, Sean Saffan, Abel Torres