GMC News

GMC HOPE status clarified

GMC HOPE status clarified

Jonathan Jackson
The Union-Recorder

Georgia Military College has more than 1,100 students who are currently receiving the HOPE scholarship and contrary to recent published reports, the school has received HOPE scholars for several years. Newly proposed legislation by a state

representative does not address the ability of students to access HOPE scholarships, only HOPE grants, according to school officials.

Legislation proposed by state Rep. Ben Harbin, R-Augusta, of District 118 would include Georgia Military College in accessibility for HOPE grants, which differ from HOPE scholarships. The scholarships are for students participating in academic programs in Georgia’s colleges and universities. The scholarship qualifications include a minimum grade point average and graduation date requirements. HOPE grants differ in that they serve students pursuing technical college courses of study and they do not have grade point average or graduation date requirements.

The legislation is designed to include Georgia Military College in the HOPE grant program and is required because of GMC’s status as public, but independent institution.

“The present law says that University System schools can offer the HOPE grant for schools that are part of the University System of Georgia,” GMC Vice President Col. Fred Van Horn said Wednesday. “All public colleges should be considered. Rep. Harbin’s legislation is to amend the


Harbin’s legislation, introduced earlier in the week in the Georgia General Assembly reads as follows:

To amend Code Section 20-3-519.5 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, relating to eligibility requirements for a HOPE grant at a branch of the Technical College System of Georgia, so as to provide that students at Georgia Military College shall be eligible for HOPE grants; to provide for related matters; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

In addition to Milledgeville, GMC has junior college campuses in Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Madison, Sandersville, Valdosta and Warner Robins.