Disability Services

Welcome to GMC,

 We would like to welcome you to our Office of Student Disability Services. As a part of Georgia Military College, we are all excited to see you reaching for your dreams.  GMC is committed to the full inclusion of all students providing a friendly and inclusive environment that students can thrive in. 

As part of the Department of Academic Support Services, we want to ensure that you have the access and opportunity in all aspects of your experience while at GMC.  A team effort approach is taken when supporting students and that's why all students have access to free tutoring and success coaches.  The tutors can help you with the content materials when needed and our success coaches can help you with academic skills.  Team up with a success coach and gain an accountability partner which can help you with tasks from organizing your planner, to teaching you how to study more effectively. If you need access in the form of an accommodation, please seek accommodations by following the steps in our verification process listed below. 

We hope you will contact us at any time when you have questions or need help.  Our staff is friendly and I think you'll see that everyone is eager to help.

Enjoy your time at GMC,

Office of Student Disability Services

 

The Verification Process

To apply for accommodations:

  1. Apply for admission to the College
  2. Complete a Student Request for Reasonable Accommodations  Intake Application
  3. Complete an Initial Interview with SDS.  (By phone or in person)
  4. Submit documentation: Documentation Guidelines will highlight the required information and additional helpful information that may be requested.
  5. Meet with the Manager or Disability Coordinator if verified, to discuss reasonable accommodations and requesting instructor notification letters through Accommodate (Letters must be requested each term)
  6. Access Accommodate program and request Instructor Notification Letters each term for each instructor you wish to receive accommodations in their class.  Once the letter has been sent the student is required to meet with each instructor to make arrangements for desired accommodations.

Official Institution Policies and Procedures for Students with Disabilities and Grievance Procedures can be found here.

 

For more information, please contact your Campus Disability Coordinator.

 

Campus Coordinators:

Augusta Campus:  G. Brian Hendricks, bhendric@gmc.edu or 706-993-1115

Columbus Campus:  Amy Sandy, asandy@gmc.edu or 706-478-2755

Dublin Campus:  Priscilla Smith, psmith@gmc.edu or 478-410-3454

Eastman Campus:  Erik Walton, ewalton@gmc.edu or 478-220-3016

Fairburn Campus:  Michelle Lockett-Lewis, mlockett@gmc.edu or 678-833-5132

Fayetteville Campus:  Sonya Okoli, sokoli@gmc.edu or 678-846-9632  

Milledgeville Campus:  Laura Booth, lbowes@gmc.edu or 478-387-4879

Madison Campus:  Leigh Aldhizer, laldhize@gmc.edu or 706-752-7500

Online Campus: Jeff Wells, jwells@gmc.edu or 478-387-1921

Sandersville Campus:  Jeffrey Berke, jberke@gmc.edu or 478-387-4706 

Stone Mountain Campus:  Janis Anderson,  jjanders@gmc.edu or 678- 379-1387

Valdosta Campus:  Keith Russell, krussell@gmc.edu or 229-357-5657                                                                                                 

Warner Robins Campus:  Brenda Davis, bdavis@gmc.edu or A478- 225-0183

 

FAQs