Disability Services

Welcome to GMC,

 We would like to welcome you to our Office of Student Disability Services. As a part of Georgia Military College, we are all excited to see you reaching for your dreams.  GMC is committed to the full inclusion of all students providing a friendly and inclusive environment that students can thrive in. 

As part of the Department of Academic Support Services, we want to ensure that you have the access and opportunity in all aspects of your experience while at GMC.  A team effort approach is taken when supporting students and that's why all students have access to free tutoring and success coaches.  The tutors can help you with the content materials when needed and our success coaches can help you with academic skills.  Team up with a success coach and gain an accountability partner which can help you with tasks from organizing your planner, to teaching you how to study more effectively. If you need access in the form of an accommodation, please seek accommodations by following the steps in our verification process listed below. 

We hope you will contact us at any time when you have questions or need help.  Our staff is friendly and I think you'll see that everyone is eager to help.

Enjoy your time at GMC,

Katie Johnson

Director of Academic Support

Manager of Student Disability Services

The Verification Process

To apply for accommodations:

  1. Apply for admission to the College
  2. Complete a Student Request for Reasonable Accommodations  Intake Application
  3. Complete an Initial Interview with SDS.  (By phone or in person)
  4. Submit documentation: Documentation Guidelines will highlight the required information and additional helpful information that may be requested.
  5. Meet with the Manager or Disability Coordinator if verified, to discuss reasonable accommodations and requesting instructor notification letters through Accommodate (Letters must be requested each term)
  6. Access Accommodate program and request Instructor Notification Letters each term for each instructor you wish to receive accommodations in their class.  Once the letter has been sent the student is required to meet with each instructor to make arrangements for desired accommodations.

Official Institution Policies and Procedures for Students with Disabilities and Grievance Procedures can be found here.

For more information contact:

Katie Johnson, Manager of Disability Services 478-387-4902 or kjohnson@gmc.edu; fax: 478-451-2866 

Campus Coordinators:

Augusta Campus:  George Hendricks, Academic Dean 706- 993-1115, or bhendric@gmc.edu

Columbus Campus:  Amy Sandy, Academic Dean 706-478-2743 or asandy@gmc.edu

Dublin Extension Center: Priscilla Smith, Extension Center Director 478-410-3454 pasmith@gmc.edu

Eastman Extension Center: Katie Johnson, Manager of Disability Services 478-387-4902 or kjohnson@gmc.edu; fax: 478-451-2866

Fairburn Campus: Michelle Lockett-Lewis, Academic Dean 678-833-5132 mlockett@gmc.edu

Fayetteville Campus: Marty Cummings, interim Academic Dean 678-846-9601 or mcummings@gmc.edu

Milledgeville Campus - Kelly Schomber, Disability Specialist 478-387-4879 or kschomber@gmc.cc.ga.us

Madison Extension Center - Leigh Aldhizer, Extension Center Director 478-387-4792  or laldhize@gmc.edu

Online Campus: Katie Johnson, Manager of Disability Services 478-387-4902 or kjohnson@gmc.edu; fax: 478-451-2866

Sandersville Extension Center -Col. Yancey Walker, Extension Center Director 478-387-4791 or ewalker@gmc.edu

Stone Mountain Extension Center - Janis Anderson, Extension Center Director, 678- 379-1387 or jjanders@gmc.edu & Tangie Key, Academic Advisor tkey@gmc.edu

Valdosta Campus : Keith Russell, Academic Dean 229-357-5657 or krussell@gmc.edu                                                                                                   

Warner Robins Campus: Brenda Davis, Professor, 478- 225-0183 or bdavis@gmc.edu or Alice Flagg Smith, Academic Dean, 478-225-0179 or areslie@gmc.edu