Overview

Mission

Academic Support Services dedicates itself to promoting and motivating students to increase their desire to learn through creating an environment that encourages self-advocacy needed to achieve academic success by:

  • Working with students with disabilities to approve and provide reasonable accommodations

  • Assisting students with the development of academic skills

  • Providing academic advising to students to obtain their personal and educational goals

  • Providing tutoring services through online access or face-to-face interaction to meet the needs of a larger population of students

Programs include:

Academic Success

Start your Success Program today!  Enroll Here

GMC Professors can meet with you one-on-one to discuss your academic progress and offer suggestions for success, but sometimes, you may need more assistance. In that case, we are here to help.

Academic Success Coaches can provide information on study strategies, reducing stress or overcoming test anxiety.

Tutors can explain the course content again, suggest ways to improve your writing, or help you practice math problems. GMC offers tutoring in a variety of subject areas.

Success Coaches by Campus:

Augusta – Sara Samuel, Adjunct Professor, ssamuel@gmc.edu
                  Vaishali Handa, Adjunct Professor,  vhanda@gmc.edu

Columbus – Justin Hayes, Tutor/Success Coach, jlhayes@gmc.edu

Dublin -  Karol Griffither, Adjunct Professor,  kgriffith@gmc.edu

Eastman - Booker O'Brien, Academic Advisor, bobrien@gmc.edu

Fairburn- Nerphrita Norris, Academic Advisor, nnorris@gmc.edu

Fayetteville – Information coming soon

Madison - Nancy Aiken, Lead Tutor, nsprauveaiken@gmc.edu

Milldegeville - Judy Ely, Assistant Director, jely@gmc.edu

Sandersville – Information coming soon

Stone Mountain - Nerprita Norris, Academic Advisor, nnorris@gmc.edu

Valdosta – Melanie King, Success Coach mking@gmc.edu

                   Tyrone Johnson, Success Coach tjohnson@gmc.edu

Warner Robins - Booker O'Brien, Academic Advisor, bobrien@gmc.edu

Online Campus -  Mark Skelton, Academic Advisor, mskelton@gmc.edu

 

Resources 

Assignment Check List

Daily Activity Schedule

To Do List

 

Study Tips

Time Management  

Reading Strategies

Learning Styles

Bloom's Taxonomy

Study Cycle

 

GMC Referral Counselors- Can listen to your problems and help you find the appropriate agency to assist you with personal issues that you don’t want standing in the way of your academic success.

Disability Access Coordinators- Do you have a learning or physical disability and want accommodations? We are here to level the academic playing field, so all students have the same opportunity to be successful in the classroom.

Academic Advisors- Can assist you in creating a balanced course load and meeting your needs, so you can graduate with the major you want and take a step closer to your career goal

GMC Career Counselors- Not sure what path to take to reach the career you want? See your advisor or Academic Success Coach. They can provide resources to research the career you want or help you explore career types to choose a career.

Students entering GMC on exclusion must complete an Academic Success seminar in order to be eligible to register for the following quarter.

 

Contacts

Director:
Katie Johnson, 478-387-4902 or kjohnson@gmc.edu