GMC - News


Winter Honors Assembly

Georgia Military College recently honored those junior college students who have distinguished themselves in academics and character during the Fall Quarter. SGT J. Lee Weems, University of Georgia Police and JC Class of 1996, spoke to the students about the importance of having confidence in themselves and their abilities to accomplish their goals. The following students were recognized for being named to the 2007 Fall Quarter President’s List by having a 3.70 grade point average of higher. Britt Aliperti Geneva Altman Sarah Applebury Dana Arnold Lindsey Blackwell Allyse Brantley Dennis Chavez Christopher Couch Justin Duru Brandon Ennis Trey Ennis Luis Estrada Donna Evans Dennis Faircloth Michael Flynn II Bryan Forester Avery Fulp Leslie Goodenough Steven Goulet Stephanie Griffin Brittney Hardin Samantha Harkins Ben Harned Kayleigh Harris Summer Harrison Timothy Hicks Hannah Howell Dylan Jones Rhonda Jones Richard Jordan Melissa Kluck Abby Leak Joshua Long Clint Loucks Robert Lowe Cijii Lundy Kristy Massengale Jessica Massengill Jane Mbatia Kent Mathias Megan McGarity Sam Montgomery Andrew Moseley Courtney Nelson Jennifer Neumann Neal Noel Cason Parker Megha Patel Leah Prestwood Andrew Pritchard Gary Purvis Walter Reynolds Billie Rhodes Robyn Ricard Pablo Rivera Philip Robertson Summer Rowland Scott Schroeder Amber Schubert Joseph Shaia Justin Sheppard Ben Smith Clayton Smith April Stephens Ashley Stephens Amatul Strickland Marci Tanton Adam Tolbert Lance Veal Nicole White The following students were recognized for being named to the 2007 Fall Quarter Dean’s List by having a 3.20 grade point average of higher. Christina Adams Kathryn Adams Sarah Alholm Nathan Arp Grace Atchison Mary Beadles Erica Beckom Tiffany Bell Jamie Blackwell Gary Bostic James Bowen Erica Braddy Katherine Brantley David Brock Brittany Brown Heather Brown April Brunk Kelli Carr Genae Carter Jeffrey Cason Dechandra Cato Carly Chambers Amanda Charping Joseph Coffee Jamie Comer Anthony Cook Anna Cooper William Couey James Crawford Tory Criswell Ashley Crooms Naomi Daugherty Amy Dawson Sarah Deep Antonio Delgado Bryan Deliso Haley Demmon Courtney Dickey Latolya Dixon Casey Durham Joseph Edenfield Erin Ellison Earnestine Evans Hillary Fazio Sandra Fleuriet Kaitlin Fordham Jennifer Garrett David Grant Joseph Grant Abigail Green Levi Greene Candice Griffeth Deidra Hallman Heather Hamby Joshua Hammock Lindsey Hancock Leann Hardy Travaris Harpe Catherine Hastings Aaron Heil Andrea Herman David Hieber Sarah Hittler Cheryl Holland Tamiko Horne Crystal Hughes Anthony Jackson Keisha Johnson David Jones Christy Karson Jana Kennedy Teresa Kennedy Sanghee Kim Matthew Kiss Michelle Kitchens Stephen Kitchings Anna Kleinberg Jonathan Lamar Ashley Lamb Audrey Lanthrip Richard Lee Crystal Lewis Theresa Lide Adam Logue Jonathan Lopez Allison Lowe Robert Luu Randall Lyles Eliah Manders Kiernan Manley Holly Mathews Christina May Tyrayle McCarty Tiffany McCook Lindsay McCoy Patrick McCulley Chad McLeroy Jason McMullen Susan McNeal Hayle Meeks Timothy Melvin Matthew Miller Cody Mize John Moss Christi Nicoson Lucie Orr Olajuwon Paige Lawrence Papsidero Matthew Parker Aratiben Patel Mickey Peacock Joshua Peeler Rebecca Perkins Jennifer Phillips Mary Phillips Tara Piggott James Poe Amy Powell Cassandra Prescott Jessica Ray Elish Rayford Joseph Roberts Kristi Robinson Chelsey Rodgers Ashley Sanders Victoria Schneider Kenneth Scott Shawn Self Donald Shatterly Megan Silvey Lauren Simmons Marcellus Simmons Stephen Simpson Amelia Smith Jenna Smith Maria Smith Melissa Smith Randy Smith Cassie Snider Nathanael Spradlin James Starr Erin Stephens Sean Stevens Alexandrae Stricklin Brittany Stuckey Casey Sullins Rachel Tharpe Tracy Tompkins Lea Tremblay Whitney Tucker Carl Wade Tessa Watkins Gelisa Watts Christina Welch Joseph Wester Micah Wyatt Lisa Yu The following students were recognized for receiving Character Awards by demonstrating character in such ways as serving others, visiting residents at the Georgia War Veteran’s home, and showing acts of kindness. Jasmine Howard John Nuttall, Jr. Geremy Thomas Wyshina Haynes Jennifer Neumann Chavis Willis Hardy Jones III Lea Tremblay Scott Shoup Kefira Baker Matthew Cerniglia Candice Martin William Olson Walter Reynolds, Jr. Teresa Kennedy Bernice Grant The Distinguished Order of the Servant Leader was presented to four students by COL Fred Van Horn, GMC Executive Vice President. This award is presented to any member of the GMC family who volunteers at least 100 hours of community service in one year. Teresa Kennedy Kefira Baker Lea Tremblay Gary Bostic The 2007 -2008 Crawford & Company Scholarship was presented to Michael Washlow by Dr. Mike Holmes, GMC Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty. Ms. Laurel Koehler, Assistant Professor and Peer Leader Coordinator, recognized James Crawford for participating in GMC’s Peer Leader Program, serving as role model to other students, and offering information on successful academic strategies to students participating in various GMC classes. Peer leaders, like James Crawford, assist students in integrating what must be learned in the particular class with techniques for learning and are role models for extra-curricular, community service, and leadership activities. Ms. Koehler also recognized students who have demonstrated solid academic and personal success, characteristics of optimism, persistence, responsibility, and initiative. The awardees were first exposed to this message in their GMC 100 course. Faculty members have noticed these traits in other courses and would like commend the following students: Veronica Miller Michael McWilliams, Jr. Erin Evans The following students were recognized for outstanding achievement in a subject area: American History - Grace Atchison Military History - Andrea Herman World History - Frederick Brown Political Science - Robert Lowe Psychology - Samantha Harkins Criminal Justice - Andrew Moseley Art - Jennifer Neumann Composition - Chelsey Rodgers Music - Lea Tremblay Literature - Samantha Harkins Education - Walter Reynolds, Jr. Biology - Leah Prestwood Business - Bryan Forester Mathematics - Shannon Pitts Military Science Level I – David Tanner Military Science Level II – Tyrayle McCarty Military Science Level III – Bryan Deliso Military Science Level IV – Bryan Forester ###